Section 12-16 Commission created; membership; qualification; terms; vacancies.

    There is hereby established a commission on human rights. The commission shall consist of seven (7) members.   All members shall be residents of the city.   The members shall have demonstrated a strong commitment to human rights and a belief in the principles of equal opportunity embodied in this chapter. The council shall endeavor to appoint individuals to the commission from various protected categories that have historically been discriminated against. Of the seven (7) members first appointed, three (3) shall be appointed for one year, two (2) shall be appointed for two (2) years and two (2) shall be appointed for three (3) years. Thereafter, appointment shall be for terms of three (3) years, except that appointments to fill vacancies shall be for unexpired terms only. No member shall serve more than two (2) consecutive full three-year terms.

(Ord. No. 13194 § 2, 12-16-91; Ord. No. 20788, § 1, 10-18-10)

(Ord. 20788, Amended, 10/18/2010, Prior Text)